Game of the Week: Pixel Purge

Posted: September 27, 2010 in Game of the Week
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s time for another Game of the Week!

Game of the Week: Pixel Purge

Developer: EpicShadow created this game, and it is another successful game on their part.

Developer’s Description: The world of pixels is in dark times, a purge is on the horizon…

Pixel Purge is an incredibly polished arcade shooter featuring fast-paced gameplay, stunning graphics and effects, 50 achievements, and more.

Getting trophies rewards bonus starting skill points.

Instructions:

WASD or Arrow Keys – Move Around

Space, Esc, or P – Pause / Upgrade Menu

Left-Click – Shoot

M – Mute

Tip: Your Fire Rate stat is important, secondly, your Fire Spread.

The main menu for Pixel Purge

Note: Those stars only appear once you’ve completed each of those parts. Don’t worry if you don’t have them yet. What?! I couldn’t make this a GoTW without beating it first!

The Play button should be your first action.

Read up on the collectibles. They help a ton in the later parts of the game.

The start of the game...before the insanity.

Let’s go!

I have a fire spread increase bonus, with it it’s easier to…

LEVEL UP! The first few times, leveling up should be really quick, as you can level up to level 6 really quick.  As you level up, you get 2 skill points per level.

What to choose?

I level up my Rate of Fire to 4, Fire Spread to 4, Piercing and Critical to 3, and Health Regen and Points to 2. I have a bunch of extra skill points you get automatically when you complete certain achievements. I have 14 starter skill points.

And then…

...

My keys stick and I die. This will happen, and when it does, it is best to quit and restart.

Another part of the game is Chains.

Killing enemies without being hit will get your chain score up. Chains mean that you have killed X amount of enemies without being hit by said enemies. More chain means bigger score.

I almost got 3 million.

The keys stuck again. That seems to be a recurring problem. Anyone else having this issue?

Time for challenges. Lots of ’em this week:

Easy: Get a chain of 25.

Easy-Medium: Reach level 10.

Medium: Reach level 15.

Medium: Score 500,000 points.

Medium-Hard: Score 1,000,000 points

Hard: Score 2 million points.

Really Hard: Get all 50 trophies.

Thanks for reading my new GoTW! Check back often for new posts and other cool things!

Post a constructive criticism or comment to let me know what you think, subscribe to my blog, Like it above or below, follow me on Twitter, etc.

Leave a comment