My Life, Ten Years From Now (Or How Life is a Lot Like Playing Baseball)

Posted: July 5, 2010 in Random Stuff
Tags: , , ,

Trying to figure out what the future will be like is like trying to decide whether a baseball pitcher is going to throw a fastball, curveball, change-up, or a knuckleball. A fastball of 10 years will be nice and fast, over before you know it and too late to swing at it. A 10 year curveball looks promising at first, but then something unexpected happens and you miss badly. The change-up is nice and slow, with everything handed to you on a silver platter. If you miss it, you look like a fool. A knuckleball has unpredictable twists and turns and can go in every possible direction. Tough to predict and even tougher to hit, knuckleballs can either go badly for you, or miss completely and be great for you.

In 10 years I will be 24. Still young, and still dreaming. Hopefully, I will have finished college, found a steady job, and be looking for a wife. I seriously doubt I will be married by 24. If I am, no kids at that point! I would like to be married a few years before having any children. After that, who knows? Leave that to God. I can’t control the future. I can’t tell God what to do. He has decided how I will live my life, and I can either hit a home run for His team, or strike out.

(question given by Plinky)

Comments
  1. findingthemotherlode says:

    The really good baseball players, you know, the ones people still talk about with a gleam in their eye, are remembered not so much for their every play, but for their love of the game, and the heart they had on and off the field, win or lose. They gave their all. Same with living for God.

  2. nanniespro says:

    Nice thinking and future planning best of luck

  3. Zyhr - Three Dimensional Schizo says:

    You’re fourteen and I’m 22. But you have a great picture of life. Although I don’t play baseball or know much of it, you have a genuine view of what life in general is. Keep it up kid. You’re going to achieve so much. Just always be positive. But if you wish to be odd, feel odd, or look odd even, so be it. Your life, your choice.

    – Zyhr

  4. Life seems to throw all those pitches in random order. Best we can do is be humble, take our swings and trust that whether we pop out or crack one out of the park it’s all in the plan.

Leave a Reply

