My first 5K!

Posted: May 11, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Last Saturday, I ran my first 5K, the Purcellville Run for Research. I’ve been training for this event for the past month or so, and I am very pleased to report that I completely shattered my old time with a finish of 26:25.6 My previous best had been somewhere around 36 minutes.

I trained on the local gravel road, which I believe counts for why my time in training is longer than when racing. The race course was very flat, with only a few minor hills, while our road is hilly and winding.

The results posted later  that day. I finished in 64th place out of 174 runners, 48th place out of 85 men, and I finished 5th in my age group out of 10 runners. Here is a more detailed list.

If you would like to start running, here are some tips that I have found helpful:

  • Start out slow. You’re not going to become the next phenom over night. Don’t knock yourself out.
  • Don’t run every day. Run once every 2-4 days, and take a nice bike ride along that same path in between those days.
  • Drink plenty of water. Hydration is important. If you’re dehydrated, your body will slow down, and you’ll feel it. Important!
  • Participate in public races. This will give you a gauge on how well you’re doing, and what you need to do to step up your game.

Again, resting is a very important element. If you run too hard or too often, you will become exhausted and your performance will suffer.

Run well!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments
  1. Anthony says:

    It was pretty awesome, I must say. But the competitive streak in me now is arising, and I am going to have to go in training myself!

  2. re says:

    Great time….! You ran the race — and ya got the t-shirt…!

  3. 1.8.5 says:

    Awesome 🙂 Great pics! Now for the 29th….

  4. jeffrey says:

    What’s your time for one mile?
    I can do it in 7:37 sec but that is really pushing it. I’m sure you can do better, I mean you’ve been training for a month. Today I timed a relaxed mile and I took 9:16 and I wasn’t that tired at the end.

  5. WordCrafter says:

    Well, on average, it takes me about 8:30. I have yet to test myself on a single mile. Perhaps I will do that soon. Thanks for the idea!

  6. jeffrey says:

    I already figured out how long it took you on average, I did the calculations. My dad can only do it 7:18 secs, Not long to go before I get there.

Leave a Reply

